my connection problems

forum for discussing Operation Flashpoint and older Armed Assault games.

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

my connection problems

Post by Hammer » 01 Aug 2009, 13:44

well i have tried everything i cna think of and looked at forums. i even tried with no one else on the server - still the same issues. it takes at least 2-4 tries to even connect to the server. almost right after connecting i start losing the connection as well.

maybe someone else will have idea or run into someone else having the same problem. it may just be the connection where i am living right now though. :(

(NWN2 seems to be fine though)
Helmut

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Post by PanzerMeyer » 03 Aug 2009, 05:40

how about temporarily disabling your firewall and then connecting to the server?
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 04 Aug 2009, 21:18

that means kicking my wife off of the internet while i game. not going to happen. this game is supposed to work with NAT, the last patch even said they fixed the problems with it. i just wonder why i am having an issue and the rest of youo are not.
Helmut

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Post by PanzerMeyer » 05 Aug 2009, 05:19

Hammer wrote:i just wonder why i am having an issue and the rest of youo are not.
Valid question since I know several others here on WOF use routers and hardware based firewalls and they have no issues with Arma 2.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 05 Aug 2009, 12:29

non-steam version? I think only hammer and softball are running non-steam version.

I am running through two nested routers myself ... don't ask.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 05 Aug 2009, 13:56

I have a Belkin Wireless router, no network problems on my end. For troubleshooting purposes, I would bypass the router completely and see if you can connect. If you are able to connect and stay connected, that kind of tells you the problem is in the router.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 07 Aug 2009, 14:31

BS - game problem. others on BIS forums are having same issue, different publishers, different routers. probably just some weird circumstance.

on top of it i have an intermediate ISP problem - in other words savvis' network sucks and it is between cox and the data center.
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 09 Aug 2009, 11:30

well it looks like I can connect to Gator and play. that is good. i suspect it will be the same of others as well - but i have tried a few other servers listed in the server browser and get the ssame issue. here is the error log from the server:

well it looks like I can connect to Gator and play. that is good. i suspect it will be the same of others as well - but i have tried a few other servers listed in the server browser and get the ssame issue. here is the error log from the server. whoever created ChemLabs should look at the description.ext file - might be missing something per the below - looks like the semi-colon is missing at the end of the line.

NAT Negotiation completed
Unknown entity: 'copy'
File description.ext, line 7: '.respawn': Missing ';' at the end of line
Mission CO12-ChemLab[RLG].utes: Missing 'description.ext::Header'
Server: Update of object 2:208 arrived from nonowner
NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #292291072, users.card=0
NetServer: users.get failed when sending to 292291072
Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 292291072 (Hammer)
NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #292291072, users.card=0
NetServer: users.get failed when sending to 292291072
Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 292291072 (Hammer)
NetServer::SendMsg: cannot find channel #292291072, users.card=0
NetServer: users.get failed when sending to 292291072
Message not sent - error 0, message ID = ffffffff, to 292291072 (Hammer)
Helmut

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 09 Aug 2009, 12:43

i noticed the "docks" mission had issues after the patch. I'll open, test, and resave all my missions before next time.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 09 Aug 2009, 20:38

i tried another as well - got the same message, semi-colon missing after the .respawn. should probably check them all. i might try a stock missing to see if i get disconnected with those.
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 10 Aug 2009, 16:26

So are you able to connect via direct IP (Non Dedicated server) and not have problems? Interesting. I would say it has something to do with the Dedicated server, but none of us are having the problem you are. Weird.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 10 Aug 2009, 19:26

no, direct ip or via browser does not work. well, i can connect better now it seems, but lose connection after being in the game for a while.
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 11 Aug 2009, 20:42

potential clue to the .respawn missing ; error:

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.p ... ost1401336
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 13 Aug 2009, 22:10

well my porblems are definitely not related to my install or system. i set up a dedicated server on my laptop and can play fine. either internet related or my router/firewall.
Helmut

Post Reply