RLGaming.com


RLGaming's Forums
It is currently Mon 25 Sep, 2017 8:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FS2 setup
PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul, 2005 8:59 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
if you are interested...in joining Grifter and myself.

install the game.

install the 1.2 patch.

http://scp.indiegames.us/request.php?88

install the FSO stable release build:

http://scp.indiegames.us/request.php?134

download and uncompress (see below where to put them) the updated vp files (much better graphics, etc.).

http://scp.indiegames.us/request.php?145

http://scp.indiegames.us/request.php?148

download and uncompress (see below where to put them) the new movie files:

ftp://ns20193.ovh.net/FS2_Cutscenes.rar

uncompress all of these files (the media vp's and the movie files) into a new folder called mediavps inside the Freespace2 folder, i.e. C:\Games\FreeSpace2\mediavps . this will allow us to run these as a mod (will get to that later) and have more flexibility in updating these files as well as running other mods.

optional in case we ever do competition (not likely): go here and create a login for the new "pxo" (actually fs2netd) if you have not already done so:

http://freespaceserver.cjb.net/fs2netd/

use WOF for your squad.

use the launcher.exe that installs with the latest build and configure the game. if you installed with default folders it will be in C:\Games\FreeSpace2. you might want to create a shortcut to it on your desktop to replace the stock FreeSpace2 shortcut that installed with the stock game. you will need to select the executable you want to run, which in this case is:

fs2_open_367.exe (not the one with a "_d")

click apply. then go to the features tab and select in the easy setup "all features on" and click apply. then go to the MOD tab and click select MOD and browse to the mediavps folder you installed the above files into. select OK and then click apply. then go through the rest of the tabs and change things as they make sense for your particular computer.

here is a link to the wiki with some basics about setting things up:

http://www.hard-light.net/wiki/index.ph ... Everything

starting the game from the launcher is easiest (and best - no chance you will start the wrong .exe), just click the Run button at the bottom of the launcher. (optional: go to options and select multi. in the pxo section enter your pilot name as created above and password and squad).

configure the rest of your options. make sure you turn in game voice comms off (in multi, top right you will see a voice selection).

i encourage you to do the training missions to get your stick set up and some practice. to connect multiplayer you must create a multiplayer pilot in game (you can clone your single player pilot) and select it either when entering the game or in the pilot management interface. then go to the multi options and select tcp and add the ip address you want to connect to - when entering the multiplayer missions section your game will automatically check those servers to see if they are running a game. you can also start a server from within the multiplayer missions section of the interface. remember you must have a multiplayer pilot selected to get to the mutliplayer section - else it is the campaign section if you have a single player pilot selected.

you can get all the .iso's from http://files.rlgaming.com/FS2 .

_________________
Helmut


Last edited by Hammer on Wed 08 Mar, 2006 11:33 pm, edited 11 times in total.

Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 3:54 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sun 30 Jun, 2002 7:02 am
Posts: 3877
wait...a little confused cuz when you pm'd you sent me another link to games=warden or w/e. Where do I get the 3.6.5 build? I don't see it on your server.

_________________
Image
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:15 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
will put it up now -missed one. it is the FSO build in that thread...

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:46 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
k - up there now...

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 6:33 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sun 30 Jun, 2002 7:02 am
Posts: 3877
K thanks.

_________________
Image
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul, 2005 12:52 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
ok ... didn't work for me.

Here's what I did:

1) Installed the game from the 3 CDs (I have the original discs)
2) Installed the 1.2 patch (fs21x-12.exe) downloaded from our FTP site
3) Unzipped and copied the contents of the other two zip files (20050103-win32.zip and WOF-MP-FS2.zip) into the Freespace2 folder. There were some duplicates here.
4) Started the launcher and chose the executable (fs2_open_T-20050103.exe) and chose apply and then ok
5) Started the executable and the game crashes with a couple errors

Code:
---------------------------
PlayWnd Sample
---------------------------
FAILED(hr=0x80004002) in pVW->SetWindowPosition(extra_w, extra_h, video_rescale_w, video_rescale_h) (DShow error)

---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------





Code:
---------------------------
PlayWnd Sample
---------------------------
FAILED(hr=0x80004002) in InitVideoWindow(ghApp,width, height) (DShow error)

---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------


I don't know if this is correct or not, but all the folders in the "data" folder are empty except for the "tables" which were copied manually. I have a feeling it didn't install correct. Any thoughts? I'll probably just try a reinstall, but if I'm doing something wrong, i'd like to not repeat it.

-Gator

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul, 2005 1:35 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed 11 Feb, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 2288
Location: Melbourne, FL
Ok, I have it installed and I've done the 1st training mission. Man, this brings back memories from when I played FS1 back in the day!

Anyway, I joined PXO and can login to the website, but in-game it just gives me a "login failed" when I try to connect. Is there some delay between registration and being able to login?

_________________
The Jedi Master


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul, 2005 3:38 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
no delay - have you set it up in-game? the PXO setup needs to be done. mine works o.k.

Gator,
Maybe try just reinstalling with the correction in the procedure above - you actually only need the WOF file...


data should be empty except for the tables as the rest of the stuff is in the .vp files that come with the game.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul, 2005 4:08 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed 11 Feb, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 2288
Location: Melbourne, FL
Might've been a firewall issue...I fiddled and now it logs in fine.
Only thing is it mentions I have "hacked tables"--the files in that zip I assume--and the server list is blank, so I can't join anything out there although it let me start setting up my own.
Guess we'll just have to blunder through this the first time! :)

_________________
The Jedi Master


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul, 2005 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat 12 May, 2001 5:00 pm
Posts: 1374
Location: Oregon
Replaceing the clutch in the wifes saturn this weekend. but will have to set this bad boy up and see what happens. sounds fun!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul, 2005 10:55 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
Still no dice.
Installed cdroms ... ran the game ... ok
installed 1.2 patch .. ran the game ... ok
unzipped and copied the WOF files
configured the launcher
same crash on startup.

I'm going to reinstall and install the other zip file instead of the wof file and see if there's any difference. I think my problem is a video file or a video setting or something like that.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul, 2005 7:32 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
yeah - give that a shot. it will be without videos then, and you will need to get the table files and the pxo config file. alternatively, you could just delete the videos and have the same thing...then it will not try to run the videos on startup...as they will not exist.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul, 2005 2:13 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
Gator,
can you also try running the Babylon Project and see if that works O.K. or not? It will install into a seperate directory anyway... that might give a clue as well.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar, 2006 10:02 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
updated...

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 6:09 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sun 30 Jun, 2002 7:02 am
Posts: 3877
Up and running works perfectly so far. This may be a lot of fun.

_________________
Image
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat 12 May, 2001 5:00 pm
Posts: 1374
Location: Oregon
i think i will give this thing a download and dust off the joystick and see just how sucky i am now days :P will let you know if i get it up and running and can fly in a fairly strait line... ;)


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 4:41 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
I got this installed and working last night. Took a little bit of time to get everything setup correctly, but I think I got it done.

Gator, let me know if you still have problems, I'll walk you through what I did with my install. (I have the original CDs as well)

Started the campaign, man have I missed this game. Good stuff.

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 5:40 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
ummm...Gator's posts were a very long time ago.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 6:38 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
Yea yea, my offer still stands. :P

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 9:28 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
i'll try to follow those instructions in the thread if they're accurate. SB: I'll let you know if i get hung up again.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)