ArmA 3 dedicated server

ArmA 3 discussion topics, etc.

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 06 Dec 2013, 16:15

OK, dedicated server up and running. I have the benny warfare cti missions for both islands on the server, and a couple of others. you do not need the cba_a3 or alive mods for the warfare mission or any of the other missions except for the alive showcase mission.

the server thread in the Servers forum is updated with information, but to connect to the server it is rlg3.rlgaming.com or look for rlgaming in the server browser. the password is our normal password, server admin is our normal password typed twice. it is up and running now for you east coasters to test and see if you can connect.

I do not have my alive mission ready yet, but if you guys want we can try the alive showcase mission or just play becti (benny cti). not yet sure what time I will be on yet.
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: ArmA 3 Friday

Post by Softball » 10 Dec 2013, 22:00

Benny CTI DL Link: Benny CTI 0097

EDIT: Removed instructions. Apparently these are Mission Downloads. Sorry for the confusion.
Last edited by Softball on 15 Dec 2013, 14:57, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: ArmA 3 Friday

Post by Hudson » 11 Dec 2013, 06:50

We all need to download this?

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 Friday

Post by Hammer » 11 Dec 2013, 11:39

no, and you should not put anything in your arma addons folder. you SHOULD do everything as mods. but this is a mission, so all you have to do is connect to the server and it will download the mission. if you want to download ahead of time put the pbo's in the respective mpmissions folder (in your arma 3 profile folder).
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 12 Dec 2013, 22:03

server down right now for update. will post again once it is running.
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Softball » 15 Dec 2013, 14:56

Whoops. So we don't need to DL anything for the CTI? Sorry for the misinformation.

On a side note, I don't think we should get too crazy with addons, as they tend to deter people from playing. And it could screw up the game after any official updates.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 16 Dec 2013, 21:06

addons do not mess up the game after updates. updates mess up working addons.

but I have never been a big fan of lots of addons. maybe one big one, but not lots of them. this cba and alive are working pretty good.

I am going to look at ace though - we did use that. and more maps are always good.
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 24 Dec 2013, 16:54

server up and running. I have the patrol operations missions on it, and it is running the task force arrowhead radio mod and the alive mod (alive will not affect missions that do not use it, it has to be embedded in the mission).
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Softball » 24 Dec 2013, 19:24

Not seeing the server listed
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 24 Dec 2013, 22:51

looks like firewall caused an issue even though I allowed arma. I just shut it off since the system is behind a firewall anyway. should be good now.
Helmut

Slamhammer
Posts: 478
Joined: 12 May 2001, 17:00
Location: Missouri

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Slamhammer » 25 Dec 2013, 00:25

going to down load game today Hammer do I need to get any mods ? so I can do mission with you guys.

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Softball » 25 Dec 2013, 12:36

The mods we are using are:
http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=18767
DL Link: @CBA_A3

http://alivemod.com/
DL Link: @Alive 5-4.7

http://radio.task-force.ru/en/
DL Link: Task Force Radio 0.8.3


Most all of these you just need to extract and place into you Arma3 Root folder. You would then enable the Mods IN GAME, under Configure > Expansions in the menu. With the radio mod, you will need to place a couple of DLL files in your Teamspeak Plugins folder. You will also need to enable the Radio mod in Teamspeak under plugins.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 25 Dec 2013, 21:04

I tweaked the server some after our mission last night. hopefully it is better now (added cpu, cores, and memory).
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Softball » 26 Dec 2013, 09:19

"Into the Fog" was a pretty good mission, I think we need to try it again with the AI tweaked down a bit. They were pretty good crack shots for it being dark and raining, lol.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 26 Dec 2013, 15:50

agreed. I tweaked the server some more for some more potential performance gains and dropped the ai skill a bit.
Helmut

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ArmA 3 dedicated server

Post by Hammer » 21 Jan 2014, 22:38

new version of alive, 0.5.6, is on the server.
Helmut

Post Reply