RLGaming.com


RLGaming's Forums
It is currently Wed 20 Sep, 2017 9:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar, 2015 11:52 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
Amazing detail.

Damage Modeling - LINK

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Tue 10 Mar, 2015 7:38 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat 12 May, 2001 5:00 pm
Posts: 1374
Location: Oregon
yea it looks great dosnt it. they were not bluffing when they said they were pushing PC hardware/software to the edge lol.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar, 2015 10:08 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
I read an article today that SC will use 100+ GB of HD space for installation. Wow...

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar, 2015 10:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat 12 May, 2001 5:00 pm
Posts: 1374
Location: Oregon
yea......

ive been trying to keep up with the Dev comments about it.

even though it will have to go a certain amount of optimization and compression, they are going to have so much information that they are having trouble figuring out how to store it all....( on the client PCs)

maybe we should get free hard drives with purchase? LOL.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Sat 14 Mar, 2015 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu 30 Oct, 2008 5:21 am
Posts: 259
Location: New England USA
I was planning on running this game from my SSD, but the 256G SSD is not going to be big enough so it looks like it's going onto the slower 2T HDD :(
I should expect to have to do another upgrade by the time this game actually "comes out".
Maybe I can get a 1T SSD by then for under $200. I wonder if my 16G ram will still be enough?

PDT_Armataz_01_42


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Damage Modeling
PostPosted: Sat 14 Mar, 2015 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Sat 12 May, 2001 5:00 pm
Posts: 1374
Location: Oregon
well from what ive been reading so far, its not the PC Ram that will be the huge issue... it will be the GPU ram on the vid cards. since they can only store so much info. the bottle neck seems to be transferring data from PC Ram to the vid Ram. thats why the new damaging modeling is such a big deal. the 'old' way they went about doing it was they had stage models for damage states. the hornet in pristine condition stored about 17 megs in video. but with all the added damage modeling, it was over 100 megs. now, because of the NEW procedural damage states, its back down again.

will be interesting to see how they go about the storage problem though...


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)