BattleStations: Midway

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
daofcmacg
Posts: 1546
Joined: 01 Jul 2002, 09:38
Location: Chicago
Contact:

BattleStations: Midway

Post by daofcmacg » 18 Mar 2007, 21:16

what do you guys have to say about this game, I'm actually thinking about buying it tomorrow??? By the way from what I am reading ArmA is a hit or miss (more miss) with Vista so I'm opting for the American release in may.

DA
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!

daofcmacg
Posts: 1546
Joined: 01 Jul 2002, 09:38
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by daofcmacg » 18 Mar 2007, 21:20

I'm downloading the demo now, hopefully I can get some really good FPS with the 7600GT from this game.

DA
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 18 Mar 2007, 21:58

What I know:
There is a PC version and a console version. From what I hear, the PC version is very good and strategic. It's no "Harpoon" or "Dangerous Waters" but it's supposed to be a pretty good game.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 18 Mar 2007, 22:54

You sir, need to get Arma. It works for Gator (so far), so no more excuses. Lol! Madrus, Jedi, Gator, Bad Karma, and myself had a really fun time playing ArmA Friday night. Guess you'll be missing out until May.

I don't think anyone here has BSM, so you will likely be playing it solo. I haven't heard anything good about it, so I'm not sure about it. Maybe I'll check out the demo myself.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

daofcmacg
Posts: 1546
Joined: 01 Jul 2002, 09:38
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by daofcmacg » 18 Mar 2007, 23:01

Well one bad thing, it relies on DX-9 and it won't start without the required .DLL files for DX-9. During the demo install it does ask if I want to install DX-9 and I didn't of course not knowing what in the hell it would do to the system if the system even let it install the damn thing. Well I will wait for the price to go down for BSM and I will order arma tonight.

I'm just wondering how can I trick the DX-9 games into playing on a DX-10 box, as you all already know compatiblity mode dosen't work because it still is looking for certain .dll files. So if anybody has an answer and or point me in the right direction I will be eternally grateful.

DA
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 19 Mar 2007, 07:05

just install dx9 like it asks, don't you know vista won't let you do anything truly dangerous? All kidding aside, just let it install the dx9.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 19 Mar 2007, 11:24

I read some of the reviews at Gamespot.com on BSM, it seems like its a mixed bag, some like it, some don't. I watched one of the demo videos on the Gamespot.com site, the concept is there (you can control up to 60 different units), but I'm not so sure I like the 3rd person only with some of the units. I do like that you can jump around to any unit in the mission. I wonder if that works in MP games as well? If anything it looks like it would be pretty fun to play. From the reviews I read, you can only play it with an X360 controller or the keyboard. No mention of the ability to play it with a HOTAS. I may pick it up if it goes on sale (Like 1/2 price) at GoGamer.com, but for now, I don't think I'm gonna bother with it.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

daofcmacg
Posts: 1546
Joined: 01 Jul 2002, 09:38
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by daofcmacg » 19 Mar 2007, 14:52

Same here...only way I can play the demo is thru gamespy and I am having a helluva time even getting the game to connect.

By the way I ordered ArmA. It should be here by friday.

DA
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 19 Mar 2007, 16:33


By the way I ordered ArmA. It should be here by friday.

DA


Good news DA, good news. I'm looking forward to seeing you in ArmA with us. When you get it, check the "ArmA Standard install" Sticky post in the OFP forum for install procedures, patches, and addon info.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

daofcmacg
Posts: 1546
Joined: 01 Jul 2002, 09:38
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by daofcmacg » 20 Mar 2007, 08:54

OK, I'm not walking down that road again. You guys know we had more types of OFP installs than stock games.

DA
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by Softball » 20 Mar 2007, 11:22

Well, you need the patch. I'm not going crazy with addons, just that sound pack. The default game sounds are HORRIBLE, you'll see. If the server is running the sound mod and you are not, you will not be able to connect. Unless the server is a dedicated server, and has mods allowed turned on. It's not a big deal really, the FDF sound mod has its own installer, you just point it to your ArmA folder, and run the game from the shortcut it creates.

We are NOT using any other addons. Period.

I am waiting to see if the WGL group makes a WGL mod for ArmA, now THAT I would have to consider using.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Post Reply