RLGaming.com


RLGaming's Forums
It is currently Thu 23 Nov, 2017 12:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BattleStations: Midway
PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar, 2007 9:16 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon 01 Jul, 2002 9:38 am
Posts: 1546
Location: Chicago
what do you guys have to say about this game, I'm actually thinking about buying it tomorrow??? By the way from what I am reading ArmA is a hit or miss (more miss) with Vista so I'm opting for the American release in may.

DA

_________________
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar, 2007 9:20 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon 01 Jul, 2002 9:38 am
Posts: 1546
Location: Chicago
I'm downloading the demo now, hopefully I can get some really good FPS with the 7600GT from this game.

DA

_________________
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar, 2007 9:58 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
What I know:
There is a PC version and a console version. From what I hear, the PC version is very good and strategic. It's no "Harpoon" or "Dangerous Waters" but it's supposed to be a pretty good game.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar, 2007 10:54 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
You sir, need to get Arma. It works for Gator (so far), so no more excuses. Lol! Madrus, Jedi, Gator, Bad Karma, and myself had a really fun time playing ArmA Friday night. Guess you'll be missing out until May.

I don't think anyone here has BSM, so you will likely be playing it solo. I haven't heard anything good about it, so I'm not sure about it. Maybe I'll check out the demo myself.

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar, 2007 11:01 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon 01 Jul, 2002 9:38 am
Posts: 1546
Location: Chicago
Well one bad thing, it relies on DX-9 and it won't start without the required .DLL files for DX-9. During the demo install it does ask if I want to install DX-9 and I didn't of course not knowing what in the hell it would do to the system if the system even let it install the damn thing. Well I will wait for the price to go down for BSM and I will order arma tonight.

I'm just wondering how can I trick the DX-9 games into playing on a DX-10 box, as you all already know compatiblity mode dosen't work because it still is looking for certain .dll files. So if anybody has an answer and or point me in the right direction I will be eternally grateful.

DA

_________________
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar, 2007 7:05 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
just install dx9 like it asks, don't you know vista won't let you do anything truly dangerous? All kidding aside, just let it install the dx9.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar, 2007 11:24 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
I read some of the reviews at Gamespot.com on BSM, it seems like its a mixed bag, some like it, some don't. I watched one of the demo videos on the Gamespot.com site, the concept is there (you can control up to 60 different units), but I'm not so sure I like the 3rd person only with some of the units. I do like that you can jump around to any unit in the mission. I wonder if that works in MP games as well? If anything it looks like it would be pretty fun to play. From the reviews I read, you can only play it with an X360 controller or the keyboard. No mention of the ability to play it with a HOTAS. I may pick it up if it goes on sale (Like 1/2 price) at GoGamer.com, but for now, I don't think I'm gonna bother with it.

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar, 2007 2:52 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon 01 Jul, 2002 9:38 am
Posts: 1546
Location: Chicago
Same here...only way I can play the demo is thru gamespy and I am having a helluva time even getting the game to connect.

By the way I ordered ArmA. It should be here by friday.

DA

_________________
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar, 2007 4:33 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA

By the way I ordered ArmA. It should be here by friday.

DA


Good news DA, good news. I'm looking forward to seeing you in ArmA with us. When you get it, check the "ArmA Standard install" Sticky post in the OFP forum for install procedures, patches, and addon info.

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar, 2007 8:54 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Mon 01 Jul, 2002 9:38 am
Posts: 1546
Location: Chicago
OK, I'm not walking down that road again. You guys know we had more types of OFP installs than stock games.

DA

_________________
Death Angel, SGT, 13th MEU

Fly Low Fly Hard Move MUDD!
If you can see it you can take it down!
MAVERICK!!!!


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar, 2007 11:22 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 6:11 pm
Posts: 6064
Location: San Diego, CA
Well, you need the patch. I'm not going crazy with addons, just that sound pack. The default game sounds are HORRIBLE, you'll see. If the server is running the sound mod and you are not, you will not be able to connect. Unless the server is a dedicated server, and has mods allowed turned on. It's not a big deal really, the FDF sound mod has its own installer, you just point it to your ArmA folder, and run the game from the shortcut it creates.

We are NOT using any other addons. Period.

I am waiting to see if the WGL group makes a WGL mod for ArmA, now THAT I would have to consider using.

_________________
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)