RLGaming.com


RLGaming's Forums
It is currently Fri 17 Nov, 2017 9:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Silent Hunter Campaign
PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr, 2005 8:54 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
Anyone here working on a campaign in this sim? I just started my campaign after nailing the academy missions. Navigated out of the sub pen.

Is there a long-distance navigation mode to make it easier to navigate from Kiel to my patrol location west of UK? Or, do I need to make sure I have a visual of my course from the bridge/periscope to make sure I don't collide?

Still unsure of how the campaign will unfold. Phenomenal so far.

-Gator

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr, 2005 2:28 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 17 Aug, 2002 9:06 pm
Posts: 5543
Kiel? I used to go there sailing. Nice place , when the weather's warming. We sailed the Corps yacht out of Kiel harbour across the channel, and up to Farbourg in Denmark, and a few other places. The Danes know how to party at weekends, I can tell ya. The scenery was well worth the walk as they say! :lol: 8) . But man, the cost is extraordinary - and we complain about the UK? 8O


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr, 2005 2:32 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
pretty nice so far. I navigated it out of Kiel harbor and north and am now near the east side of UK. Trying to skirt north of Scotland to get to my patrol zone. I've dodged a few lone destroyers (they're not my targets) and just sunk a lone coastal merchant (had no escorts) as a tune up mission. I'm now on my way again.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 5:36 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Tue 27 Aug, 2002 11:19 am
Posts: 1114
Location: Scotland
I am on the Third trip out on SH3, the best way to set up and navigate to your patrol point is to plot your course from out side the Harbour (past the Light houses) using the map screen, from there you can setup waypoints using the map at different resolutions to make sure you arent going to hit land, from here you just accelerate the game time to MAX and stay in the map view unless you want to check out the view or an enemy merchant or warship appears on the map from radio intelligence reports in which case either sink it or avoid by diving, but you can only goto MAX game acceleration in the map view though and using this method you can get to your designated patrol area very fast approx 15 mins of uninterupted travelling at Ahead standard and X 1024 game speed and you will be at your patrol point.

As for other ships i have not had any problems with colliding with them in the high speed Game mode it's only Land that can cause a real problem here and even then if you do get close to land the game automatically slows down to a max X 8 speed if anything gets close (including other ships).

I take it you have started the campaign in 1939 like i have and if so be prepared for some real fantastic hunting since at this point in the war the British did not have any escort for the majority of convoys and i myself came across a convoy of at least 20 Merchants of all shapes and sizes and they had absolutely no protective escort at all! The down side was that i had already sunk a few lone merchants by then and was low on torps so i could only sink a few of the Mercs in that convoy before i ran out out of torps completely and it was stormy weather and i could not use the deck Gun on them BUGGER!! I tracked the convoy for a day and a half game time hoping the weather would ease off and i could let lose with the deck gun but no joy i had to break off when the got close to the coast of Scotland and to many destroyers started showing up.

Love this Sim having a great time with it.

_________________
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
Image


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 5:52 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
Seems like a bug:
I return from my first patrol, dock successfully at Kiel. That was fun. Decimated a huge convoy 8 ships for 38805 tons. I've got no fuel, no shells and only one torp left. Patrol report? 0 Tons, 0 Ships ??? Captain's log reads correctly. WTF??? Must be a bug. ... No renown earned. I need that to upgrade my boat and hire new crew.. Oh well, hope it's just the first patrol. I successfully reached my patrol zone, patrolled it for one day (26 hours actually) and encountered the huge convoy on my return trip. I wonder since the ships I killed were not in my patrol zone?

Great fun. not enough torps.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 6:25 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 17 Aug, 2002 9:06 pm
Posts: 5543
I wonder if you could get away with going up behind a boat and letting him chop his propellor on the bow of your sub? Works in iL-2, eh?! :lol:


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 6:33 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Tue 27 Aug, 2002 11:19 am
Posts: 1114
Location: Scotland
Must be a bug bud, i have not had anything like that happen so far, all ships sunk by myself including ones not in my patrol zone were accounted for on my return on first mision and i got roughly 1500 renown for it.

Check your mission goals for success or not before you return to dock its the F8 button, i myself have found that if you complete the mission goals check via F8 and have still got fuel and torps to use then hang around for as long as possible (fuel and torps permitting) then you can get extra tonnage and it gets you no downside only benefits.

Hope that bug sorts itself out for you, it might be worth restarting the campaign and seeing if that sorts it IMHO, It will be worth the restart if it fixes the bug you have encountered.

_________________
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
Image


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 6:40 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
i poked around my save game files ... will try to see if I can hack it ... looks like there's a "Patrol 0" and a "Patrol 1" ... even though I've only had one patrol. In the patrol report, it also says my start date is 0/0/00 and my start lat/lon is 0-0-0 by 0-0-0. Soooo, something is hinky. I'll start by backing up the save files and maybe reloading my save point just before docking and see if I can fix it.

Also, any idea how close you have to get to the sub pen to get the option to "dock at Kiel?" I drove completely into the pen (cleanly I might add), but it was slow and not that rewarding ... took as long to dock as to play the whole patrol. I wonder if you can just enter the harbor and then end the patrol or if you have to actually drive into the pen?

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr, 2005 7:01 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7799
STOP making me want to buy the game more!!!

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr, 2005 4:16 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Tue 27 Aug, 2002 11:19 am
Posts: 1114
Location: Scotland
Gator you can end the mission and choose the Dock at Kiel option when you are in the Denmark Straights and i also believe from what i have read that you can choose the return to base option even when hundreds of miles from home as long as you are surfaced and there are no enemy ships near by to put you under threat so this would save you a lot of time.

I always return my Sub to the inner harbour at least as i think it makes the whole sim more realistic as selecting to end the mission and return to Kiel when still hundreds of miles from base would be a cheat since this sim is not only about the action but your navigation and command skills and the return journey IMHO is all part of the mission (even if it is at X1024 game speed) and part of the Sim since the real U-Boat Captains did not suddenly reappear back at base when they decided they had done what they could on that patrol and you never know what could happen on the way back home even after a succesfull mission you might get spotted and bombed by allied aircraft or attacked by a roving destroyer, these elements would be missed if choosing to end before reaching the Main harbour.

I do enjoy docking the Sub right into the pen now and again just to get that small added satisfaction of knowing you got the sub right back to where you started from although as you said it does take a lot of time to do it.

It's going to be a real buzz playing this campaign, especially as the years progress and the Convoys get protective cover from Destroyer escorts and the allied air coverage increases making it more and more difficult for us Sub drivers to do our job

As for those other people that have not went out and bought this Sim yet, well they are missing out on a great experiance even if they can't get to play with an American sub, the thrill you get when you either find a large unescorted convoy or get a radio report of it's location and intercept it and then slowly reduce it's numbers one by one is very satisfying and the game Graphics are AWESOME, leaving the Harbour at sunset with the seagulls flying overhead and returning at midnight a week or two later in the Fog and navigating your Sub into the inner harbour when you can't see more that 50 feet in front of you with the ghostly flash of a hidden Lighthouse as your only guide FANTASTIC.

My only regret is that Kodiak has went out and bought this excellent sim and has been scuttled by the game prtection software before he can even get into the sim, i am lucky in that i have had no problems with SH3 thus far, we will need to see if we can hook up one night Gator and do a Multiplayer mission.

_________________
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
Image


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr, 2005 10:31 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
In MP, I'm guessing you can actually use wolfpack tactics ... that would have worked wonders on that convoy I found ... ran out of torps. ran out of shells. had to disengage.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr, 2005 11:27 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7799
"has been scuttled by the game protection software before he can even get into the sim"

the game has been scuttled before it was even published - not Kodiak. He is just suffering the by product of the lame decision to put that crap into the game itself.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr, 2005 11:35 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Sat 17 Aug, 2002 9:06 pm
Posts: 5543
Tchya - no shit Sherlock!! :(


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr, 2005 1:23 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
funny thing is, Ubisoft published 2 games on the same day ... Brothers in Arms (using Safedisc) and Silent Hunter 3 (using Starforce) .... using completely different forms of disc protection. One would think a particular publisher would stick with one method of protection in order to reduce tech support, etc.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr, 2005 4:55 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed 11 Feb, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 2288
Location: Melbourne, FL
Ubi's Splinter Cell: CT also uses SF. I had a hell of a time getting it to work, but now that it does I'm guessing I'll be good to go on SF-protected games.

Kodiak, if you have any packet-writing CD-R software like InCD (Nero) or DirectCD (Roxio/Adaptec), try disabling it (end process) and see if it works then. SF absolutely refuses to run on my PC with InCD running.

_________________
The Jedi Master


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr, 2005 6:04 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
Well, I succesfully hacked my logbook to reflect the correct numbers. It's not too bad. I hope this sorts itself out so it works properly on the subsequent patrols.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)