RLGaming.com


RLGaming's Forums
It is currently Tue 26 Sep, 2017 5:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New WWI Sim
PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar, 2009 5:39 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue 10 Feb, 2004 9:54 am
Posts: 6821
Location: Miami, Florida
This one looks amazing,

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/t ... ost2697377

_________________
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar, 2009 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu 11 Jul, 2002 5:26 pm
Posts: 2127
Location: Wichita KS
sure....take a gander at the DRM area over on SimHQ and see how they will allow you to play siad game that you paid for.....had interest in this game until they told us how they would allow us to partake....no thanks..


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Sat 29 Jun, 2002 3:55 pm
Posts: 2746
Location: Reston, VA
With pc piracy what it is, we're not gonna get many games without DRM. I've lowered my expectations in that area.

_________________
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar, 2009 11:26 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu 11 Jul, 2002 5:26 pm
Posts: 2127
Location: Wichita KS
its not that...its that you have to play it on game servers located in Russia, no stand alone servers, no IP hosts, only on their servers. Anyone remember how crappy the Ubi servers were when aces or the PF expansions came out...

I would bet $100 that SoW will come out the same way


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar, 2009 1:10 pm 
Offline
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Tue 10 Feb, 2004 9:54 am
Posts: 6821
Location: Miami, Florida
Buffalo Six wrote:
its that you have to play it on game servers located in Russia, no stand alone servers, no IP hosts, only on their servers.


See, now that I dont understand. Why couldn't they just have starforce or some other drm on the disc but then allow you to host your own server? That just makes no sense.

Of course, outside of flight sims, the requirement to use the developers/publishers servers in order to play online has existed for a long time now. Games like Raven Shield and Company of Heroes come to mind.

_________________
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar, 2009 6:55 pm 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed 11 May, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 7796
you are supposed be able to host your own games. there was an extensive interview of the devs, i think it will be fine. but with that said, regardless of how i was looking forward to it, i will wait until it is out for a bit and we can see how MP works. there is supposed to be a demo soon with full MP capabilities.

_________________
Helmut


Top
 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr, 2009 9:16 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Thu 11 Jul, 2002 5:26 pm
Posts: 2127
Location: Wichita KS
I'll let yall know....looks like I will be in the beta test, with 4 other 352nd guys. Depending on the NDA I may or may not be able to say much.....


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)