WOF Guidelines for install of Falcon SP4

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Grifter
Posts: 3877
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

Post by Grifter » 18 Aug 2004, 09:27

I don't get that option either Kodiak. Perhaps it's not there.
[img]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a77/Grifter404/f16003sig.jpg[/img]
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 18 Aug 2004, 09:44

Thanx Grifter, I've just done the re-install dance again. Are you online for a while or just checking the forums?
It is not the technique that wins a fight, but the more furious mind - Kodiak WOF

You are stuck on stupid. I'm not going to answer that question! - Gen Honore, New Orleans Sep 05

Grifter
Posts: 3877
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

Post by Grifter » 18 Aug 2004, 10:45

well I'm doing some work at home today to prep for the fall. I don't have F4 installed because it seemed like no one was really playing it, so I said to myself, why go through the bother?! But, I can install it for this weekend and give it a whirl if you like. Damn F4 and stupid PITA install.
[img]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a77/Grifter404/f16003sig.jpg[/img]
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 18 Aug 2004, 11:18

Well i noticed that the mitmaps option was missing also but i think that the addition of the 4.1 patch removes this option but this is just a guess since i am sure the option was there when the install guide was posted and also Madrus and Steel would have been all over my rear end 8O if it was in the guide but not showing in the install!

Kodiak any progress in sending me those 2 Falcon files? i have not had an email from you regarding that, although the email address you have might not be able to take large files so i will send you an email from my non public list and you can use that to send me them via that address as i know this can take large files.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 18 Aug 2004, 13:06

Takes large ones, eh? Sounds gay to me, and around here - that would be just wrong! 8O 8O
It is not the technique that wins a fight, but the more furious mind - Kodiak WOF

You are stuck on stupid. I'm not going to answer that question! - Gen Honore, New Orleans Sep 05

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 20 Aug 2004, 07:09

Ignoring Kodiaks last comment :roll: , can all Falcon 4.1 Pilots please review install procedure as it now incorporates the addition of the 4.1 patch!

This should be installed immediately after the SP4 Patch and before expanding the package when a fresh install is being carried out.

Also i have removed the uncheck "enable mitmaps" in the hardware settings instructions as this option appears to no longer be available in the F4 patch config editor.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 20 Aug 2004, 07:23

Foock!! I gues I better re-expand that package then, eh? :lol:
It is not the technique that wins a fight, but the more furious mind - Kodiak WOF

You are stuck on stupid. I'm not going to answer that question! - Gen Honore, New Orleans Sep 05

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Please Install instructions to include SP4.2

Post by Softball » 10 Dec 2004, 11:13

I think with the potential of getting some new recruits on the horizon, and possible to peak the interest of veteran WOF members, I was thinking we should update the F4 install instructions. In all honesty, I find the install of F4 SO much easier now with SP4.2. Here is what I did on my install (from memory, I'm at work)

0) Defrag Drive you are going to install F4 to.
1) Install F4 from CD
2) Goto F4 folder, and then to ZIPS folder, rename tacrdata.zip to something like OLD_tacrdata.zip. All I did was add OLD_ in front of the file name.
3) Install 1.08US patch.
4) Install SP4.0 Patch
5) Install SP4.2 Patch and select Hi-Rez tiles box during install (Checked by default).
6) Expand the patch as per the instructions posted here on our forums.
7) Goto F4 folder, and then to the ZIPS folder, rename the OLD_tacrdata.zip file back to the original name, tacrdata.zip.
8) Viola, run Falcon 4.


That's it folks. Nothing fancy, nothing remotely difficult. The expanding of the patch is really the only thing I see people not understanding what to do. We will also need to update and verify that we are ALL using the same patch (F4Patch) settings so that there are no questions as to who has what options checked. With the exception of a few hardware settings(Throttle Input ID work around for example), we need to have the same settings or there could be a potential for mishaps running, connecting to, or during a mission.

If I missed a step somewhere, please let me know so I can add or replace the info.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 12 Dec 2004, 05:14

I will update the original post in this thread so that it is up to date with our current standard of install.

And i will also post a full list of what patches we are using so that we are all on the same page here and reduce any MP compatibility issues.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Hammer_other
Posts: 747
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 13:53
Location: Kent, UK
Contact:

Post by Hammer_other » 12 Dec 2004, 11:36

That would be nice!
"...and the bombs go BOOM and the walls crash down, bang, bang, boom, boom, war is a terrible thing, OK?!..."

[img]http://www.stevelanephotography.co.uk/aviation/TEMP/Area51.jpg[/img]

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 12 Dec 2004, 11:43

original game, 1.08us, sp4 and 4.2. nothing else.
Helmut

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

Patches

Post by Softball » 13 Dec 2004, 11:00

I think he's referring to the SP4.2 Patches (The things you check and don't check in the F4Patch area) Steel. Not installing anything more after SP4.2.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 13 Dec 2004, 14:50

Of course, everyone will be able to install their own hi-tiles, cockpits as that is independent of the compatability issues - unless of course you are experiencing problems. What would be adviseable is simple install first to make sure you are compatible and problem free, then apply your little extras afterwards. :wink:

Softball
Posts: 6064
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Diego, CA

HiTiles

Post by Softball » 14 Dec 2004, 16:28

HiTiles are included with SP4.2 and are an option to install during the install process. Just FYI.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist

Post Reply