WOF Guidelines for install of Falcon SP4

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

WOF Guidelines for install of Falcon SP4

Post by Nemisis » 22 Mar 2004, 21:19

Ok guys here is the official guidelines from Frugals for the instalation of Falcon SP4 that will be adopted by the WOF as it's standard Falcon install procedure.

WOF will run Falcon 4 with the SP4 patch as standard, you can add High Res Tiles or Cockpits, Skyfixes and such at your own disgression but any further addons such as BMS will not be supported by WOF

Install procedure is as follows:(QUICK VERSION!)

a. Falcon4.0 CD
b. 1.08 U.S. Patch
c. SP4 Patch
d. SP4.1 Patch
e. Expand Patch
f. Add additional patches such as: HiRes tiles, third party cockpits, font enhancers, 3DSuperpit, etc.

This completes the "standard" SP4 install.

Install procedure is as follows: (FULL VERSION)

Phase One - Standard SP4 Install


I. The Clean Up (Use only if F4 was previously installed)

Manually
1. Totally uninstall the Microprose folder. (I use a third party
uninstaller just to be sure)
2. Erase all F4 related files in :C:\temp, C:\windows\temp, and the recycle bin if applicable.
3. Erase all folders either Microprose and/or F4Patch from the
registry before you re-install.
Start/Run/regedit
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microprose (erase folder on
left if there)
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/F4patch (erase folder on left
if there)
4. Delete Microprose\Falcon folder

Automatically
1. Download and execute the F4 RegCleanUp file from
http://users.tns.net/~mhom/index.html (Thanks Homer[cide])

II. New Clean Installation of F4 from Microprose CD(First time install, start here)

1. Install Falcon 4.0 from the Microprose CD. Choose the Full Install option as this will prevent having the CD inserted at load up. [Note:When installing from the CD, use the default folder name, without any spaces]

2. In the Falcon Zip directory, rename the tacrdata.zip file to
tacrdata_old.zip This is due to a bug in the 1.08 patch.


III. Install 1.08 Patch
http://www.ina-support.com/faq/falcon40downloads_pc.asp

1. Install the 1.08 patch
2. Rename the tacrdata_old .zip file you just renamed back to its original...tacrdata.zip.
3. After installation of the 1.08 Patch, delete the msvcrt.dll in the main directory of Falcon. This will force the the usage of the newest revision provided with your OS. (Thanks Hornet)
4. If you are using a non-English version of the original F4 CD, install this English version the Falcon.tlk into Falcon4/sounds directory. BE sure to back up the original. (Thanks Hellswolves)
http://www.hellswolves.de/files/falcon.zip
5. If, during the installation of 1.08us, you receive an error when patching at the KoreaOjb file (this is rare, but does happen)go to the next step.
6. If no error occured during patching go to step V.

IV. Fix for the 1.08us Patch
(optional)

1. If an error occured during the 1.08 patching process, exit the 1.08 patch.
2. Open the Falcon4 main directory/terrdata/objects and rename KoreaObj.LOD to KoreaObj_old.LOD.
3. Download a different version of KoreaObj.LOD from http://users.tns.net/~mhom/index.html
4. Using the browse button in the self-extracting file of the KoreaObj.exe, go to the Falcon4 main directory/terrdata/objects and click install. This will install the newer version of KoreeaObj.LOD.
5. Go back and repeat step III.

V. Install SP4
http://mirrors.voyager.net/games/fa...4_Installer.zip

VI. Install 4.1 patch

VII. Expanding the F4 package

1. Within the F4 main directory, open the "falconsp config editor.exe" which is located in the main Falcon4 directory. This will open Falconsp Config Editor menu.

2. Confirm the selected "Filter:" is set to "All Patches" (default) in the Falconsp Config Editor menu.

3. Click on "Refresh Patches" button in the Falconsp Config Editor.

4. Select 'File/Save All Patches As Filter ...' menu option.

5. At the "In order to use a filter you must be using an expanded package" prompt, select YES.

6. At the "This function will expand the package to an F4Patch directory. Would you like to continue" prompt, select YES.

7. At the "F4Patch' directory already exists. Would you like to replace this directory" (CAUTION: This will delete your current 'F4Patch' directory and everything in it)? Select NO.

8. When prompted do you wish to create a shortcut on your desktop select YES.

9. When prompted to enter a filter name just select CANCEL to use the default name of F4Patch.

10. Click "Exit" to close the Falconsp Config Editor.

11. Delete all shortcuts named Falconsp Config Editor because you will no longer will be using it. Instead, you should only use the newly created F4patch shortcut. Now open the newly created F4patch.

12. Click on the "+¨ sign to the left of the checked box of (SP)
Falcon Configuration.

13. Click on the "+¨ sign to the left of Settings Hardware.

14. Settings Hardware: uncheck all these boxes.

I. Graphic distortion fixes
II. Software UI
III. Swizzle Terrain Textures
IV. Throttle DirectInput ID workaround **(Unless Required.)**
V. Voodoo 1&2 Compatibility

15. All other options set to default or your personal taste and
CPU/Video card power.(To make any further configuration changes use the F4Patch.exe instead of the config editor.)

16. Reboot and Defrag. (Optional)

For colored illustrated instuctions, go to
http://users.tns.net/~mhom/Expand_F4patch.html (Thanks Homer[cide])

VII. Within Falcon 4: Under Setup/Graphics

1. All sliders maxed except bubble=3 and vehicle mag=1.
2. Gouraud Shading should be checked.
3. Resolution is set at 1024x768 @32 bit HAL not HAL and T&L.
4. Under Advanced: Ultra Only 32 bit textures
5. Fast 2d cockpit: enabled
6. Fast A-G radar: enabled
7. Filter objects: enabled
8. Anisotropic filtering: enabled
9. 3DNow: enabled

VIII. Must have cockpits, add-ons, patches, skins, utilities, communications, and campaigns

Ok hope thats clear enough! This install is very similiar to the SP3 patch install so those of you that have SP3 install down to an art form (15-20 mins) should not have any difficulties.

With this new SP4 patch now set as WOF standard hopefully we can get Falcon back up and running now that the initial Lomac fever has passed.

Also i would still like to get some sort of Training program set up for Falcon 4 SP4 and Lomac even if this is on a very off the cuff manner as i still do believe it would benefit us all to have more experiance and hence more fun from his great Sim.
Last edited by Nemisis on 20 Aug 2004, 07:04, edited 6 times in total.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 22 Mar 2004, 22:15

you do not need all the reboot and defrags... totally extraneous. you MIGHT do so once after uninstalling old Falcon... defrag should be a normal part of your hard disk maintenance about once a month.

thx Nemesis!
Helmut

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 23 Mar 2004, 00:20

dont u just love the whole Falcon 4 experience?

Those other games which have you throw a cd into the drive and just follow along - that is for gay ppl.

Now, SP4, that is for real manly men. Every step of the install is like walking on broken glass - painful every step of the way, and if you slip up even a little, you are really in for a world of hurt.

ROTFLMAO - could they make the install procedure any more anal? And i dont mean that in any gay way.
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 23 Mar 2004, 07:03

Yup i agree with you on the Defrag and reboot thing Steel, i will amend the procedure accordingly, although i do always do a defrag after any completed install of a new game/sim just to make sure it's all neat and tidy, but they have gone a bit overboard with this one.

Madrus we already have our suspisions about you and gayness (especially with that Tarantula you have 8O ) so any mention of anything anal from you is totally expected :wink: , in fact i think we all agree that you NOT mentioning anything gay or anal is a bit unusual to say the least.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 23 Mar 2004, 11:30

OMG i have been outed sir. I thought I was keeping it a secret. :lol:
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 23 Mar 2004, 14:29

Whenever I hose up my falcon install, i just want to shove a CD up someone's a .... well, you know ...

Is that Anal?
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 12 Apr 2004, 17:33

F4Patch Settings
Settings Hardware: (check all the following boxes EXCEPT)
1. Enable MipMaps
2. Graphic distortion fixes
3. Software UI
4. Swizzle Terrain Textures
5. Throttle DirectInput ID workaround
6. Voodoo 1&2 Compatibility


This instruction baffles me. Line 14 above it says to check all boxes except the Voodoo 1&2 capability. I reach this instruction which tells me to either:

A. Check all these boxes
B. Uncheck all these boxes

Which is it? A or B?

BTW, whatever your answer is, I have to check the #5 Throttle Directinput ID Workaround because I have to or my throttle wont work.
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 12 Apr 2004, 18:28

Well i just followed B.

As for the throttle work around i think thats more personnal preferance.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 12 Apr 2004, 20:34

#5 the direct3d throttle wrkaround is not personal preference - you either need it for your throttle to work or you don't.

the instructions are a bit hosed...

i would follow the last bit:

F4Patch Settings
Settings Hardware: (check all the following boxes EXCEPT)
1. Enable MipMaps
2. Graphic distortion fixes
3. Software UI
4. Swizzle Terrain Textures
5. Throttle DirectInput ID workaround
6. Voodoo 1&2 Compatibility


except check or uncheck #5 as needed by your install.

Nemesis,
any issues with that?
Helmut

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 12 Apr 2004, 21:25

Are there any issues with that? maybe you should check the Forums.

The throttle work around is a personnal preferance if you need it, if you dont then dont use it! Thats all i ment by that steel. So it is a personnal preferance of sorts.

yup thats the settings i use also on the GFX side!
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 13 Apr 2004, 17:37

Ok, i will follow B as well - all of those boxes unchecked,EXCEPT the throttle workaround which must be checked in my case.
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 14 Apr 2004, 05:23

I Have edited the install procedure as per suggestions to make the options selections more clear and put a quick overview version at the top followed by the full install procedure.

Also i have removed all referance to the use of BMS addon except to mention that we will not be using or supporting it.

Please read over and inform me of any other changes that you think may be of importance.
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 15 Apr 2004, 20:57

i guess you had issues... i only asked if there were any issues with that - nothing more. i think you read too much into what i wrote. i guess i will just do my own research from now on as you suggest.
Helmut

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 16 Apr 2004, 00:43

The following section is still in the install procedure and it is not clear whether we are to check each of these boxes or not check each of these boxes:

14. Settings Hardware: (check all the boxes EXCEPT)

I. Enable MipMaps
II. Graphic distortion fixes
III. Software UI
IV. Swizzle Terrain Textures
V. Throttle DirectInput ID workaround **(Unless Required.)**
VI. Voodoo 1&2 Compatibility

May i suggest replacing (check all the boxes EXCEPT) with either (uncheck all the following boxes) or (check all the following boxes) because i still do not know whether they are supposed to be checked or not.
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

Nemisis
Posts: 1114
Joined: 27 Aug 2002, 11:19
Location: Scotland

Post by Nemisis » 16 Apr 2004, 06:00

Madrus install procedure changed as you suggested. :wink:

Steel i think you and i are at cross purposes here on the "issues" front!

I read nothing more into your comment than you were asking if there was any problems "issues" with the throttle work around.

I personally have not heard of any issues (compatibility or otherwise) with this particular patch in fact i would say that as in your case as well as Madrus that this patch is actually a must have and that since it works for both of you in enabling your HOTAS throttle and neither of you seem to have any issues with it, then this seems to be a non-issue :lol: .<S>

Happy flying SP4 everyone!
Lose Sight! Lose The Fight!8)
Barrie "Nemisis" Brownlee
[img]http://img201.exs.cx/img201/2690/nemisissignature0xl.gif[/img]

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 16 Apr 2004, 12:20

Thanks Nemisis. that cleared it up for me. prolly no one else was cornfused, but you know, Altzheimer's is on it's way.
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 16 Apr 2004, 12:59

Madrus, a man of your age should know better than to tempt providence! :roll: :wink:

Madrus
Posts: 1332
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 22:09
Location: San Angelo, TX

Post by Madrus » 16 Apr 2004, 14:27

Hmmm. With Altzheimer's every day is a new day. Have i met u b4 Kodiak?
"A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away." --Barry Goldwater
[img]http://home.online.no/~rgt36/grafikk/fa-18-rot.gif[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 17 Apr 2004, 02:16

No Sir! Not me, at least not with THIS haircut anyway . . . . . . :lol:

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 18 Aug 2004, 09:21

Well please4 someone tell me where you got this "Enable mipmaps" option guys!!! :? :? Cos i can't see the damn thing in my options.
It is not the technique that wins a fight, but the more furious mind - Kodiak WOF

You are stuck on stupid. I'm not going to answer that question! - Gen Honore, New Orleans Sep 05

Post Reply