Wings over Vietnam

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
Hammer_other
Posts: 747
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 13:53
Location: Kent, UK
Contact:

Wings over Vietnam

Post by Hammer_other » 22 Dec 2004, 07:05

Does anyone have this yet? If so, what do you think of it? It's got some not-very-good reviews on places like IGN.
"...and the bombs go BOOM and the walls crash down, bang, bang, boom, boom, war is a terrible thing, OK?!..."

[img]http://www.stevelanephotography.co.uk/aviation/TEMP/Area51.jpg[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 22 Dec 2004, 09:58

I believe it's having some Multiplayer issues at the moment, although I don't know the full detail. Could just go and get Strike Fighters Gold, but would rather hold-off for WOV getting sorted, and being available too of course over here, my only interest in WOV is for the dogfighting practice using older aircraft to teach me some energy management fighting. Have to say, TrackIR3 Pro may very well have regenerated a bit of interest for me in LO-MAC. But in the long run I am a Falcon 4 nut, and will probably use the Vietnam theatre instead, or just the older aircraft in d/f mode.
But back to WoV, the problems it's having make it easy for me to remove it from my things to get list.

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 22 Dec 2004, 11:24

Softball,
Have you tried it MP yet?
Helmut

Jedi Master
Posts: 2288
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:32
Location: Melbourne, FL
Contact:

Post by Jedi Master » 22 Dec 2004, 11:46

Not knowing anyone else with it, I've not tried MP with it yet. It has issues with coop, but H2H works fine.
Kodiak, if you're looking for straight-up combat flying, WoV is definitely good for that! It's a bit sparse when it comes to frills (for instance, you hit esc to bailout or end the mission--not separate and no ejection sequence in-game) but if you want to fly Vietnam-era jets in dogfights or on attack runs, this is great.
There are literally hundreds of other planes out there to install in the game, although I'm not sure how it affects MP abilities, from WWII (a large number of prop jobs have been released, Axis and Allied) to Korea, Vietnam, and up through Desert Storm.
I've been getting the Tornados working for the game (FMk3, GRMk1, and IDS), along with the F-111A, MiG-23, Lightning FMk6 (they escorted me on my F-111 bomb run last night--not historical but it rocked when they knocked those MiG-17s out of the sky!), F-5, Mirage F1 and III, J35F Draken, and many more planes that will never show up anywhere else because only for an open sim will people make them. Sure, MSFS has some of them, but you can't shoot anything or get shot at! :)

There's an F-14 on the way, with multiple F-15 and F-16 variants already in. Want to fly a MiG-15bis against a Tornado? You can in SFP1/WoV.

The game has very simple HUD modeling, like they had in Vietnam, so when you fly modern jets it's very limiting if you're into avionics, but if all you want is the visceral thrill of air combat it's great.

Naturally the F4-obsessed find the game lacking, but it's not a competitor to F4 on any level. More people worked on the original Doom than SFP1/WoV.
The Jedi Master

Hammer_other
Posts: 747
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 13:53
Location: Kent, UK
Contact:

Post by Hammer_other » 22 Dec 2004, 13:33

Jeez! 8O

The original Doom crew was only about 10 people!
"...and the bombs go BOOM and the walls crash down, bang, bang, boom, boom, war is a terrible thing, OK?!..."

[img]http://www.stevelanephotography.co.uk/aviation/TEMP/Area51.jpg[/img]

KODIAK
Posts: 5543
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK » 22 Dec 2004, 15:41

The original Doom crew was only about 10 people!


. . . . . . . exactly!! 8O

Anyway, I knew it was some part of MP there was a problem with. I'm not bashing WoV, I understand what level we're working on here, and don't have a problem there. But if you think it's fairly good at the d/f'ing side of things maybe I won't take it off the list yet!

Gator
Posts: 2746
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator » 22 Dec 2004, 16:05

I have it (WoV) and would try it online if anyone wanted to try.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 22 Dec 2004, 19:11

SB has it as well...

If coop does not work, i am not interested. :( i WISH these folks would pay more attention and get it right. are they going to fix it?

i would also not install newer jets due to avionics modeling - personal preference. how good are the folks making the planes at getting flight models decent?
Helmut

Jedi Master
Posts: 2288
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:32
Location: Melbourne, FL
Contact:

Post by Jedi Master » 23 Dec 2004, 05:39

It's just like MSFS--some are better than others. Also, with the last patches some major revisions were made so planes that worked fine pre-patch are screwy afterwards. The biggest problem actually is landing gear. The numbers for things like shock stroke and damping were changed, so many planes now bounce around on the ground due to incorrect numbers.

Again, these are 3rd party planes, and using them makes playing MP more difficult (due to file matching), so it may or may not matter to you.

They're aware of the coop bug, and working on it, but again there is ONE programmer and like 3 other guys in the company. That's it.

However, he's the same guy that made LB2 and EAW, so he does know what he's doing, he's just only capable of doing so much in a given time period.

Gator, let me know if you wanted to try it out one day during the week. Panzer doesn't have it yet, either (he's also waiting for coop to be fixed), but I'd like to see how it works.

MP is handled via Hyperlobby, BTW. The in-game browser works for LANs only, HL handles the internet.
The Jedi Master

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 23 Dec 2004, 12:28

hyperlobby??? aaarrrgghhh!!!

can you join direct ip?
Helmut

Grifter
Posts: 3877
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

Post by Grifter » 23 Dec 2004, 15:11

what's so bad about hyper lobby. I used to use it and it worked well? something change?
[img]http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a77/Grifter404/f16003sig.jpg[/img]
It's a good day to fly and any day you can fly is a good day.

Jedi Master
Posts: 2288
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:32
Location: Melbourne, FL
Contact:

Post by Jedi Master » 23 Dec 2004, 15:43

With SFP1, you could by using the -ip switch in the command line. Not very elegant. It came with Gamespy Arcade. :oops:

HL is far better.


Oh, I just a flew a mission where I was flight lead of 8 La-15 Fantails. We came across 4 Vampire FB Mk5s, 4 F-89Cs, 4 F4U-4s, 2 P-47Ns, and 2 F2H-4 Banshees (the mission year was 1964, so some are exports to 3rd world countries). Some were flying ground attack (Vamps, P-47s, F2H-4s) while others were escort/CAP (F-89C, F4U-4).

Only in SFP1/WoV!
The Jedi Master

Hammer
Posts: 7807
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer » 23 Dec 2004, 22:19

i hate 3rd party apps to play mp...

i refuse to install gamespy, et al.

it is just ridiculous that a company can not put a direct ip session setup in their game. absurd. even if they use gamespy lite, SOMETHING!!!!

the best one i ever saw was ASE. wonder if that can be used - i find that one acceptable - barely.
Helmut

Post Reply