Flying somtime

This is where folks can post desired game times or look for others to play a game.

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 29 Oct 2012, 06:49

So, I ended up with a spare disk in my system after some switching around of stuff for backups awhile ago (got a 3TB to back up nearly everything in the house, instead of multiple raided disks) and I finally got around to getting a minimal Windows install for DCS this weekend while also setting up an Ubuntu install in hopes of getting an invite to the initial public beta for Steam on Linux that is supposed to be happening really frikkan' soon now. I loaded up DCS World, registered my games and looks like I'm more or less ready to go. With just a bit of effort I even remembered how to start the A-10. I gather LOMAC 3 is due out any day now too, so we'll have a whole compliment of aircraft to fly it seems.

So, all that said, if anyone wants to fly sometime let me know.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 29 Oct 2012, 20:28

I'm planning on installing DCS world this week. I know it's a big download so hopefully I can get it done this Friday.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 29 Oct 2012, 20:49

The only weird thing I hit was that the BS2 upgrade module for DCS World required BS1 to be installed and registered to register DCS World BS2. I think that was the same as BS2 but I honestly don't remember.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 30 Oct 2012, 05:49

Hudson wrote:The only weird thing I hit was that the BS2 upgrade module for DCS World required BS1 to be installed and registered to register DCS World BS2. I think that was the same as BS2 but I honestly don't remember.
Ok that's good to know since I still have Black Shark 1 installed. I haven't bought BS 2 yet though. I guess once I make the full transition to DCS World I can uninstall DCS A-10 from Steam?
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 30 Oct 2012, 06:40

Yes. I didn't actually have to install any of the other games. And once I activated the DCS World BS2 Upgrade module I was able to uninstall BS1. It just needed to see it installed and activated to run...

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 31 Oct 2012, 17:55

Have a gtx 680 coming on saturday. Can't wait to crank up the graphics and see if it runs smooth even on the ground. If arma 3 comes along it will probably be handy for that as well. It's always been a performance turd.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 06 Nov 2012, 22:03

Hudson, how about we do some flying this Thursday? I have DCS World installed and updated with the A-10 and Black Shark 2 modules.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 06 Nov 2012, 22:24

sounds like a plan! I have all the modules installed, but I'm only pure danger in anything but an A-10C.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 07 Nov 2012, 09:49

Ok so I spoke to Jedi and he'll be coming as well. How does 8 pm tomorrow sound?
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 07 Nov 2012, 11:42

good to me :)

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 07 Nov 2012, 13:36

Hudson wrote:good to me :)

Ok cool.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 08 Nov 2012, 10:54

I may have to postpone. I have a 55 gallon aquarium that popped the brace that runs across the top middle and it is bowing. I need to go out and get a replacement tonight before I end up with a swimming pool for a living room... but if I get home early enough and get everything swapped I will try to be on at 8 or soon after.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 09 Nov 2012, 06:24

Well, there are definitely some teething problems with DCS World but I'm glad we still got together to fly. I'll definitely be spending some solo stick time with it this weekend. I figure we can meet up next Tuesday?
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 09 Nov 2012, 10:48

Works for me. I'm actually on vacation today and next week, so nearly anytime is good.

So, I flew the F-15C briefly from LOMAC 3. The controls are still the simplified controls of LOMAC. RALT-HOME, RCTRL-HOME, engines are started, start rolling, and takeoff. No advanced radios, start up procedures, or other controls to deal with. The taxing feels like you're on 3 stilts; not very realistic compared to the A-10C. I don't even think they have the AFM in place. I'm guessing the Su-25T is similar, though with the AFM from what I understand, which is fine with me, because I wanted to try to figure that thing out too when I had some spare time. The Russian Fighters/Interceptors hold little interest for me, but I'd like to know the A-10C, remember the Ka-50, and learn the F-15C and Su-25T. So I will probably be flying in all the spare time I have this week :)

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 09 Nov 2012, 12:11

Ok so next Tuesday at 8 then. I need to go over my control mappings for each individual platform now. Ugh..
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 10 Nov 2012, 09:10

People started complaining about the insane load times in 1.2.1 and 1.2.2. They asked a few people to post there logs. Turns out it's the module loading, so they've said they'll take a look and try to fix it.

http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?p=1 ... stcount=29

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 10 Nov 2012, 09:57

Hudson wrote:People started complaining about the insane load times in 1.2.1 and 1.2.2. They asked a few people to post there logs. Turns out it's the module loading, so they've said they'll take a look and try to fix it.

http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?p=1 ... stcount=29
That's great news. I flew a couple of KA-50 missions last night and the load times between missions was ridiculous. I also crashed once and had one "not responding" incident. Grrr....
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Hudson
Posts: 1752
Joined: 12 May 2003, 20:57

Re: Flying somtime

Post by Hudson » 10 Nov 2012, 18:24

I updated the mission we played Thursday so that the Black Sharks take off closer to the action. They won't have to spend all day flying to get there.

I also added A-10A, F-15C, MiG-29G, SU-25, and Su-25T in addition to the A-10C and Ka-50 slots that were already available so that you'll have more options.

I added a CAP flight trigger, so if someone want's to take out the Hind's with the MiG-29 or F-15C slots they can. If not just send the AI flight in.

I also found that the bridges take considerably more damage than the smaller bombs deal. The first came down after a GBU-12, 2 GBU-38's, and a maverick or two. I loaded out an A-10C with 4 GBU-10's and suddenly not so much problem. One bomb each and they were down. Long story short, no invincible bridge bug like we suspected after all.

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 12 Nov 2012, 06:20

Hudson wrote:I updated the mission we played Thursday so that the Black Sharks take off closer to the action. They won't have to spend all day flying to get there.

I also added A-10A, F-15C, MiG-29G, SU-25, and Su-25T in addition to the A-10C and Ka-50 slots that were already available so that you'll have more options.

I added a CAP flight trigger, so if someone want's to take out the Hind's with the MiG-29 or F-15C slots they can. If not just send the AI flight in.

I also found that the bridges take considerably more damage than the smaller bombs deal. The first came down after a GBU-12, 2 GBU-38's, and a maverick or two. I loaded out an A-10C with 4 GBU-10's and suddenly not so much problem. One bomb each and they were down. Long story short, no invincible bridge bug like we suspected after all.

That's definitely great news. We'll try out the updated mission tomorrow at 8!
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

PanzerMeyer
Posts: 6821
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 09:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: Flying somtime

Post by PanzerMeyer » 13 Nov 2012, 08:27

I assume we are still on for tonight Hudson?
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen

Post Reply