ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

ArmA 3 discussion topics, etc.

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
Grifter
Posts: 1954
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Grifter »

Hi Hammer,

So we just played another DRO session and we got completely annihilated. I think we tend to do better simply when we have five or more of us playing.But, perhaps it's the way you're setting up the session? How do you set up DRO, specifically the AI settings, number of enemy, etc. Anyway, Gator hosted again and we're just wondering if we're setting up the session properly. If you could let us know what you're doing when you host, that would be great.

Thanks,

Frustrated DRO players.
Image
Hammer
Posts: 4533
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Hammer »

no way to change ai other than normal, which is the lowest level, or the harder levels.

no change to numbers. i did tweak the vcom ai settings in momds before launching though. i do not recall the specific settings i used, and while it may be a bit more feasible with 4, we still do not do that well with less than 5 people. changing it more might probably means going into the mission editor.
Helmut
Grifter
Posts: 1954
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Grifter »

hmmm. So, maybe we ought to talk about this more as a group and decide if we want to continue with ARMA 3 or pick something else up instead: DCS, IL2, other?
Image
Hammer
Posts: 4533
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Hammer »

or a different arma mission? IL2? did Grifter say IL2??? :D
Helmut
Hammer
Posts: 4533
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Hammer »

maybe check out some of these:

https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/fil ... =451827557

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/ ... =343673771

we can also try out trgm2, but it might be more of needing more people, not sure.
Helmut
User avatar
PanzerMeyer
Posts: 3491
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 08:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by PanzerMeyer »

I'm absolutely on board with IL-2 if it's not on Mondays.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen
User avatar
Softball
Posts: 3313
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 18:11
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Softball »

Sorry for not making the last 2 sessions. I'm still down to play ArmA3, just been super busy on Monday nights with work. Maybe move to a different night, like maybe Friday? Not sure if the dedicated nights were discussed, but Mondays are tough for me If work is involved.
Image

Image

"SILENCE, I KILL YOU!!" - Achmed the Dead Terrorist
AKA: Staark
MasonSatchmo
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2020, 17:33

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by MasonSatchmo »

I’ve never played a WW2 combat sim but I am TOTALLY in 👍
User avatar
PanzerMeyer
Posts: 3491
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 08:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by PanzerMeyer »

Friday nights work great for me for ArmA 3.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen
User avatar
PanzerMeyer
Posts: 3491
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 08:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by PanzerMeyer »

MasonSatchmo wrote:
28 Apr 2021, 17:06
I’ve never played a WW2 combat sim but I am TOTALLY in 👍
ArmA3 is modern era infantry combat.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen
Hammer
Posts: 4533
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Hammer »

well, the mentioned IL2 is WW2. ARMA 3 can also be WW2 or Vietnam easily. DCS also has a WW2 environment and aircraft.
Helmut
User avatar
PanzerMeyer
Posts: 3491
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 08:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by PanzerMeyer »

Valid points Hammer. I was just thinking about the standard release ArmA 3.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen
MasonSatchmo
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2020, 17:33

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by MasonSatchmo »

Sorry I was referring to IL2 . Looks like a really well done sim.
User avatar
PanzerMeyer
Posts: 3491
Joined: 10 Feb 2004, 08:54
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by PanzerMeyer »

MasonSatchmo wrote:
29 Apr 2021, 16:43
Sorry I was referring to IL2 . Looks like a really well done sim.

IL-2 is indeed an excellent WW 2 fight sim with plenty of different aircraft to fly and let's face it, the WWII flight sim genre would be mostly dead without the developer who made the sim.


The a la' carte maps and planes in DCS are nice and all but it really won't amount to much until actual career, campaign and single mission modes are made for it.
I have learned from experience that a modicum of snuff can be most efficacious - Baron Munchausen
Grifter
Posts: 1954
Joined: 30 Jun 2002, 07:02

Re: ARMA 3 setting up a DRO session?

Post by Grifter »

Unfortunately, Friday nights are likely no-go for me. Typically I'm packing for a major hike/backpack, I'm already on one, or Deb and I simply spending time together. So, it's not likely to be a good day to game. I'd be open to Tuesdays again, if a change of day is required. Or, you can guys can move the ARMA 3 session that meets the needs of most people and if I'm the odd man that's okay.
Image
Post Reply